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A VICTIM’S RIGHT TO RESTITUTION
The Victims’ Bill of Rights Act in the California Constitution 
includes the right to restitution among its many provisions:

“All persons who suffer losses as a result of criminal activity 
shall have the right to seek and secure restitution from the 
persons convicted of the crimes causing the losses they suffer.”

“Restitution shall be ordered from the convicted wrongdoer in 
every case, regardless of the sentence or disposition imposed, 
in which a crime victim suffers a loss.”

WHAT IS RESTITUTION?
Restitution is monetary compensation owed to you, the victim, 
by the offender. As a victim of crime, you have a right to restitu-
tion from the offender when you have crime-related expenses. 

This brochure explains restitution, how it is ordered and how 
the California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation’s 
(CDCR) Office of Victim and Survivor Rights and Services 
(OVSRS) assist with restitution collection when the offender 
is sentenced to state prison.

This brochure also explains how the California Victim  
Compensation Program (CalVCP) can help with certain  
out-of-pocket crime-related expenses that have not and 
will not be reimbursed from any other source, as CalVCP is 
a payer of last resort.
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THERE ARE TWO TYPES OF RESTITUTION
One is called a Restitution Order and the other is a 
Restitution Fine.

A Restitution Order is an offender’s debt to you as the 
victim. State law requires judges to order the offender to pay 
restitution in every case in which the victim has suffered an 
economic loss as a result of the crime. 

A Restitution Fine is an offender’s debt to society. State 
law requires judges to order the offender (adult or juvenile) 
to pay a restitution fine, set at the time of sentencing. For 
juveniles, the judge will require the offender to pay $0 to 
$100 for a misdemeanor and $100 to $1,000 for a felony. 
Adult offenders are required to pay $150 to $1,000 for a 
misdemeanor and $300 to $10,000 for a felony.

Restitution fines go into the State’s Restitution Fund,  
a crucial funding source for CalVCP, which helps victims pay 
for expenses resulting from eligible crimes. Fines are very 
important in assuring that the fund has enough money to 
help past, present and future victims. 

(See page 11 for more information about CalVCP)
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The judge will need information from you about your 
losses in order to determine the correct amount for a 
restitution order. Make sure you give loss information to 
your victim advocate, deputy district attorney and/or county 
probation office before the sentencing hearing. The district 
attorney (DA) will tell the judge the amount of your expenses 
so the judge can order restitution.

Occasionally, the offender’s sentencing hearing happens  
before you submit your bills. In these cases, you may not 
know what the total of your losses will be, so restitution will 
be ordered with an amount “To Be Determined“(TBD).

Once you know your expenses, you will need to contact the 
DA’s office or the county probation department and request 
that a “restitution hearing” or a “restitution modification 
hearing” be put on calendar (scheduled court hearing) by 
the DA’s office. The judge should then modify your restitu-
tion amount to include those losses. Restitution cannot be 
collected until a definite dollar amount is set.

If possible, follow these steps:
1.	 Give copies of loss information to your victim advocate,  
	 deputy district attorney and/or probation office before 
	 the sentencing hearing. 

•	 Victim advocate:  
		  Every county has a Victim Witness Assistance  
		  Center with advocates who can help with  
		  your CalVCP application. 

•	 Deputy district attorney in charge of your case: 		
		  In the event the DA’s office sends you questionnaires 		
		  or forms to complete concerning losses you may have 	
		  incurred, it is critical that you complete and return all 		
		  forms as soon as possible. Often, the DA is dealing 	  	
		  with a very short window of opportunity to present 		
		  your losses to the judge before sentencing occurs.

•	 County probation office: 
		  The probation office is often in charge of gathering  
     	 information about your losses. In felony cases, a  
    		  probation officer may call you or send you a written  
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WHAT ARE SOME EXAMPLES OF LOSSES 
COVERED BY A RESTITUTION ORDER?
•	 Attorney fees

•	 Funeral expenses

•	 Home or vehicle modifications

•	 Interest

•	 Medical and dental services

•	 Mental health counseling

•	 Property loss – stolen or damaged property

•	 Possible future losses

•	 Relocation expenses

•	 Residential security

•	 Security system expenses

     	 request for your loss information in order to complete 
		  their report to be presented in court.

2.	 Have the crime report number (given to you by the  
     police) and the name of the offender. 
3.	 Keep copies of bills, receipts, expenses and any 

 insurance information related to your crime. Always 
 keep a copy of paperwork you submit to the DA, 
 victim advocate and/or probation office. 
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It’s important to follow up with the appropriate agency to 
make sure they have your name, current address and your 
phone number so they can forward any money collected 
from the offender to you. 

If the offender is being sentenced to the county system  
(jail, probation or court supervision) you need to be in contact 
with your local county agency such as the probation depart-
ment, collections department, the courts or whichever office 
is handling restitution collection. The agency you will need 
to contact may vary depending on the type of case and how 
your county operates. 

Your local Victim Assistance Center will be able to direct you 
to the appropriate agency and provide you with contact
information. To contact your local Victim Witness Assistance 
Center, visit us at calvcp.ca.gov/localhelp.aspx or call CalVCP 
at 800.777.9229.

If the offender is sentenced to a California state prison, 
be sure that your current contact information is on file with 
CDCR by completing a CDCR 1707 form. CDCR automatically 
collects restitution from the offender after receiving docu-
mentation from the county, but will not be able to send it 
to you without your contact information. Registering with 
CDCR’s OVSRS will allow you to not only give your current 
contact information, but also, to ask for notifications such as 
parole hearing dates, release dates, etc. It is important to 
notify CDCR each time you move. 

A JUDGE JUST IMPOSED A RESTITUTION OR-
DER TO BE PAID BY THE OFFENDER. IS THERE 
ANYTHING I NEED TO DO?
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You may contact OVSRS directly at 1.877.256.6877 or learn 
more on CDCR’s website at cdcr.ca.gov/victims. Your contact 
information will never be given to the offender. 

Also, be sure to get a certified copy of the restitution order for 
your records. 

HOW IS RESTITUTION COLLECTED FROM A 
STATE PRISON INMATE?
Once restitution is imposed and CDCR receives a certified 
copy of the restitution judgment from the court, CDCR can 
then assist in the collection of restitution from offenders. 

When an offender arrives at prison, an inmate trust account 
is established. This trust account acts like a bank account to 
accept deposits and allow withdrawals while an offender is in-
carcerated. It is also designed to track any financial obligations 
that an offender may have, such as restitution fines and orders. 

If the offender has money deposited into their inmate trust 
account, CDCR will take up to 50 percent to pay toward their 
restitution. For those offenders who have a restitution fine 
and a restitution order, the restitution order obligation 
(debt to victim) will be paid first.
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Money collected from the inmate’s trust account is transferred 
to the State’s Restitution Fund for disbursement to the victim. 
Again, it is important that you register your current contact 
information with CDCR so you can receive any restitution 
collected. Be patient, as this can be a slow process. Money 
may accumulate through deposits to an inmate’s trust 
account by family and friends. Other inmate income may 
come from a job within the prison. Inmates typically make be-
tween $0.38 and $1.00 per hour and there are more inmates 
incarcerated than there are jobs available. It is possible that 
the inmate won’t receive any deposits into their account while 
incarcerated and no restitution collections can be made. 

HOW IS RESTITUTION COLLECTED WHEN THE 
OFFENDER LEAVES PRISON?
When an offender leaves prison and restitution has not been 
paid in full, all victims’ orders are referred to the Franchise 
Tax Board (FTB). Victims may verify that their restitution 
debt has been transferred to FTB by calling CDCR’s OVSRS 
at 877.256.6877. FTB is authorized to use several collection 
methods including wage garnishment, bank liens and pay-
ment plans in order to collect your restitution debt. 

Note: If the offender was in state prison but is now under 
county supervision, the case may still remain with CDCR for 
collection purposes. 

Your confidential information is never released to the 
offender or FTB during any part of this process.

The PLRA allows CDCR to collect restitution from court 
judgments or settlements obtained by inmates or parolees 
in cases against the state. Victims will receive restitution 
orders from a settlement before inmates or parolees 
receive any funds. 

PRISON LITIGATION REFORM ACT (PLRA)
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If the offender was sent to state prison, call CDCR’s OVSRS 
toll free at 877.256.6877 and let them know you are not 
receiving payment. 

If the offender is on probation, talk to your local county  
probation department to ensure your current contact  
information is on file. Your probation department can  
assist you in obtaining restitution from the offender.

Restitution orders never expire and cannot be  
discharged through bankruptcy.

WHAT IF I DON’T GET PAID?

Any time after sentencing, you may collect a restitution 
order as if it were a civil judgment. For more informa-
tion you can consult the brochure “Enforcing Criminal or 
Juvenile Court Restitution Orders as Civil Judgments” at 
sdcda.org/files/enforcement_brochure.pdf.

You can also consult the California Judicial Branch at  
courts.ca.gov. 

WHAT IF I WANT TO COLLECT A RESTITUTION  
ORDER ON MY OWN?

If your mailing address changes, please give your new address 
and phone number to the agency that is responsible for 
collecting your restitution which may be CDCR, probation or 
another agency. 

A delay in the payment process will occur if your contact 
information is not current or accurate. Even if you haven’t 
received a recent payment, be sure that your current contact 
information is on file. Restitution is a lifetime debt and 
money may be collected at a later date. In some cases, it 
may take years for the offender to be able to repay the entire 
debt. Again, your address and other contact information will 
not be provided to the offender. 

HOW DO I RECEIVE RESTITUTION 
PAYMENTS IF I MOVE?
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Yes. If the offender disagrees with the amount of restitution 
requested by the DA, they can ask for a hearing.

If the offender asks for a hearing, you may be asked to appear 
or provide more information concerning your claimed losses. 
Your victim advocate, DA’s office or county probation de-
partment can help you if this happens. 

CAN THE OFFENDER ASK FOR A  
RESTITUTION HEARING?

Restitution orders and fines never expire. Even if the 
offender cannot pay at the time of sentencing, you may 
collect at a later date. 

WHAT IF THE OFFENDER CANNOT PAY AT THE 
TIME OF SENTENCING?

Yes. Restitution does not go away until it is paid in full. Even 
if an offender moves out of state or files for bankruptcy, the 
restitution debt remains.

IS RESTITUTION A LIFE-LONG DEBT FOR 
THE OFFENDER?
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The collection of restitution from the offender is a 
different process than receiving compensation through 
CalVCP for being a crime victim.

Victims may be eligible for financial assistance through CalVCP 
even before the offender is sentenced and ordered to pay 
restitution. If you were injured or threatened with injury 
during the crime and have crime-related expenses, ask your 
victim advocate about CalVCP.

CalVCP is a payer of last resort and provides financial assis-
tance to victims of crime when certain losses and expenses 
cannot be paid by other sources. Note: CalVCP cannot cover 
costs of property damage or theft. If CalVCP provides financial 
assistance to you before sentencing, the judge may order the 
offender to repay CalVCP. A victim can receive compensation 
through CalVCP even if restitution was ordered for the victim 
but cannot be collected immediately from the offender. 

HOW TO RECEIVE FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE
FROM CalVCP

CalVCP can cover crime-related expenses, such as:
•	 Funeral and burial expenses 

•	 Income or support loss

•	 Medical and dental costs

•	 Mental health treatment

•	 Relocation
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Often, victims have expenses from the crime that require 
payment before restitution is available from offenders. 
CalVCP can provide financial assistance for qualified expens-
es until restitution becomes available, at which point you 
must reimburse CalVCP.

Be sure to check out alternative resources that may be 
able to help with your losses:
•	 Auto insurance

•	 Disability (private or state)

•	 Filing a civil lawsuit

•	 Funeral insurance policy

•	 Homeowner’s or renter’s insurance

•	 Life insurance policies

•	 Mortgage insurance

•	 Social Security benefits

•	 Veterans’ benefits

•	 Workers’ Compensation benefits

WHAT OTHER RESOURCES CAN HELP 
WITH MY LOSSES?

For more information, contact CalVCP at: 
Phone: 800.777.9229 
Email: info@vcgcb.ca.gov 
Online: calvcp.ca.gov
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•	 CDCR’s OVSRS at 877.256.6877 or cdcr.ca.gov/victims

•	 For adult offenders sentenced to state prison, contact the		
	 California Attorney General’s (AG) Office of Victim  
	 Services (OVS) at 877.433.9069. The California AG’s OVS 		
	 provides victims with appeal information on adult  
	 offenders sentenced to life in prison.

•	 McGeorge School of Law, Victim Resource Center at 
	 800.victims (800.842.8467) or 1800victims.org.  
	 The McGeorge School of Law, Victim Resource Center 		
	 provides a wide range of information and services to  
	 victims of crime.

•	 The California Judicial Branch at courts.ca.gov

•	 Division of Juvenile Justice Victim Services  
	 at 916.262.0896

YOU CAN ALSO GET HELP FROM:
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PC § 1202.4 Restitution Sentencing Law
PC § 1202.45 Parole Revocation Law
PC § 1202.46 Reserving Jurisdiction Over Restitution
PC § 2085.5 Authorization to Collect on Fines and Direct Orders 
by CDCR
PC § 11177.22 Transferring Parole Out of State
Tax Code § 19280
WIC § 730.6 Juvenile Restitution

CALIFORNIA RESTITUTION LAWS
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NEED MORE HELP?
Contact a victim advocate and find additional victim 
resources and services in your county by visiting our Local 
Help page at calvcp.ca.gov/localhelp.aspx.
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California Victim  
Compensation Program

P.O. Box 3036
Sacramento California 95812-3036
800.777.9229
calvcp.ca.gov

Deaf and hard of hearing: Please call  
the California Relay Service at 711.

California Department of Corrections 
and Rehabilitation 
Office of Victim and Survivor  
Rights and Services 

P.O. Box 942883
Sacramento, CA 94283-0001
877.256.6877
www.cdcr.ca.gov/victims
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