Senate Bill 1193: Information for Victims of Human Trafficking
Civil Code § 52.6, created by Senate Bill 1193, requires that notices with human trafficking hotlines be posted in certain places where trafficking victims are likely to see them.
These notices provide victims of human trafficking with essential information on where to get help. The notices also provide critical information to the public on how to report suspected human trafficking.
Sample Notices for Printing and Displaying
Sample Notice (English)
(8.5″ × 11″ | 376 KB | pdf)
Sample Notice (Spanish / En Espanol)
(8.5″ × 11″ | 389 KB | pdf)
Who Has to Post a Notice?
Under Civil Code § 52.6, the following businesses must post notices:
- Liquor stores
- "Adult" businesses
- Passenger rail or light rail stations
- Bus stations
- Truck stops
- Emergency rooms
- Urgent care centers
- Farm labor contractors
- Job recruitment centers
- Roadside rest areas
- Massage parlors, with some exceptions
Where Does the Notice Have to Be Posted?
Businesses must post the notice in a conspicuous place near a public entrance, or in another conspicuous location in clear view of the public and employees (where similar notices are usually posted).
The notice must be at least 8.5″ by 11″ and set in 16 point font.
What Does the Notice Have to Say?
The notice must say:
If you or someone you know is being forced to engage in any activity and cannot leave — whether it is commercial sex, housework, farm work, construction, factory, retail, or restaurant work, or any other activity — call the National Human Trafficking Resource Center at 1-888-373-7888 or the California Coalition to Abolish Slavery and Trafficking (CAST) at 1-888-KEY-2-FRE(EDOM) or 1-888-539-2373 to access help and services. Victims of slavery and human trafficking are protected under United States and California law.
The hotlines are:
- Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
- Operated by nonprofit, nongovernmental organizations.
- Anonymous and confidential.
- Accessible in more than 160 languages.
- Able to provide help, referral to services, training, and general information.
What Languages Does the Notice Need to Use?
The notice must be posted in English, Spanish, and in one other language that is the most widely spoken language in the area. For those counties where a language other than English or Spanish is the most widely spoken language, Civil Code § 52.6 does not require the public notice to be printed in the non-English and non-Spanish language.
Is there a Penalty for Not Posting a Notice?
Civil Code § 52.6(e) creates civil liability for a business or establishment that fails to comply with the posting requirement. The penalty for violating this law is $500 for a first offense and $1,000 for each subsequent offense.