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California Victim Compensation and Government Claims Board 
Victim Compensation Program 

 

Violence Peer Counseling Rates and Service Limitation Guidelines as set forth by 

Government Code Section 13957.9 

Effective March 1, 2015 

 

Reimbursement of violence peer counseling services provided by a service organization for 

victims of violent crime by the California Victim Compensation and Government Claims Board 

(Board) is based on the definitions, session limitations, documentation requirements, and 

guidelines (guidelines) set forth below.   

These guidelines are subject to the maximum reimbursement provisions of Government Code 

§13957.9 and other statutes governing the administration of the California Victim Compensation 

Program (Program) codified by Government Code §13900 et seq. 

This section shall remain in effect only until January 1, 2017, and as of that date is repealed, 

unless a statute is enacted prior to January 1, 2017 that deletes or extends that date. 

Section I.   Definitions 

1. “Service organization for victims of violent crime” (Service organization) means a 

nongovernmental organization that meets both of the following criteria: 

a. Its primary mission is to provide services to victims of violent crime. 

b. It provides programs and services to victims of violent crime and their 

families, and other programs, whether or not a similar program exists in 

an agency that provides additional services. 

2. “Violence peer counseling services” means counseling by a violence peer 

counselor for the purpose of rendering advice or assistance for victims of violent 

crime and their families. 

3. “Violence peer counselor” means a provider who will use his/her life experiences 

to offer violence peer counseling services.  The violence peer counselor must be 

employed by a service organization for victims of violent crime, whether 

financially compensated or not.   

Section II.   Session Limits 

1. A violence peer counseling service session is defined as one counseling session 

lasting 45 to 74 minutes provided by a violence peer counselor.   

2. A violence peer counselor may have multiple sessions with a victim in one day at 

a reimbursement rate of $15/hour; however, there shall be a 10 session limit 

maximum on each application.   
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Section III. Training Requirements 

1. Violence peer counselor training must be provided within California and 

encompass a 40-hour training curriculum that includes, but is not limited to the 

following: 

a. The profound neurological, biological, psychological, and social effects of 

trauma and violence. 

b. Peace-building and violence prevention strategies, including, but not 

limited to, conflict mediation and retaliation prevention related to gangs 

and gang-related violence. 

c. Post-traumatic stress disorder and vicarious trauma, especially as related 

to gangs and gang-related violence. 

d. Case management practices, including, but not limited to, ethics and 

victim compensation advocacy. 

2. All training curriculums must be approved by the Program prior to implementation 

to ensure that guidelines and requirements have been met.  

a. If training content is modified after obtaining Program approval, service 

organization must obtain Program approval for the modified content. 

3. Service organizations that employ violence peer counselors shall be responsible 

for ensuring their violence peer counselors successfully complete training 

through one of the following options: 

a. Service organizations may create and implement a training curriculum 

following the specific guidelines listed within this section. 

b. Service organizations may utilize training curriculum that was developed 

by another service organization; or 

4. Service organizations may send their violence peer counselors to attend training 

that is being offered by another service organizationService organizations that 

provide the Program-approved 40-hour training curriculum must create a 

Certificate of Completion that shall be presented to the violence peer counselor 

upon successful completion of the training.   

5. The violence peer counselor’s employer shall be responsible for submitting an 

electronic copy of the Certificate of Completion to the Mental Health Section at 

the Program for violence peer counselors who have successfully completed the 

training. 

a. Dates of service that are provided prior to the Program’s receipt of the 

training Certificate of Completion will not be considered for 

reimbursement. 

Section IV.  Violence peer counselor minimum qualifications 

1. The violence peer counselor must meet the following minimum qualifications: 

a. Possess at least six months of full-time experience providing peer support 

services through employment, volunteer work, or as part of an internship 

experience, which equates to approximately 1,000 hours. 
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b. Violence peer counselors must successfully complete a 40-hour training 

that was approved by the Program as described in Section III. 

2. Any peer violence counselors who use false, dishonest, or misleading statements 

in order to meet minimum requirements will not be entitled to reimbursement as a 

violence peer counselor, as recognized by the Program. 

Section V. Billing Requirements for Sessions 

1. All service organizations seeking reimbursement from the Program must 

complete and submit billing form VCGCB-VCP-16 for services rendered by a 

violence peer counselor.   

2. All billing forms must contain the violence peer counselor’s and his/her licensed 

supervisor’s signature. 

Section VI. Level of Supervision 

1. Violence peer counselors must be supervised by a licensed marriage and family 

therapist, educational psychologist, clinical social worker, or professional clinical 

counselor.   

2. The violence peer counselors and their respective supervisors shall be employed 

by the same service organization.  

3. A licensed marriage and family therapist, educational psychologist, clinical social 

worker, or professional clinical counselor who provides supervision for violence 

peer counselors must maintain a current and valid license through the 

supervisor’s licensing authority.   

4. All mental health professionals who are responsible for providing supervision to 

violence peer counselors must have at least two years of experience working 

with trauma and victims of crime. 

5. A minimum of one hour of supervision per week shall be provided to the violence 

peer counselor to discuss case work in either a group or individual setting.  

Section VII. Service Organization Requirements to the Program 

1. Service organizations must provide documentation, upon request by the Program, 

to establish and substantiate that minimum requirements below have been met:  

a. Their primary mission must be to provide services to victims of violent 

crime. 

b. They provide programs and services to victims of violent crime and their 

families, and other programs, whether or not a similar program exists in 

an agency that provides additional services.   

2. Service organizations are responsible for meeting training requirements listed in 

Section III.   

3. Service organizations shall maintain documentation of the violence peer 

counselor’s supervision by the licensed marriage and family therapist, educational 

psychologist, clinical social worker, or professional clinical counselor. 
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4. The service organization must maintain written documentation that substantiates 

the violence peer counselor meets the minimum qualifications. 

5. Service organizations are required to maintain client case files in the event of an 

audit or review of services by the Program. 

 

Section VIII. Victims of Sexual Assault 

1. Service organizations must provide victims of sexual assault information on how 

to access a local rape crisis center. 

 


