

CALVCB BOARD MEMBERS

MARYBEL BATJER, Chairperson Secretary, Government Operations Agency and Board Chairperson

BETTY T. YEE, Member State Controller

MICHAEL RAMOS, Member District Attorney, San Bernardino County





California Victim Compensation Board

P.O. Box 3036 Sacramento, California 95812-3036

800.777.9229 info@victims.ca.gov www.victims.ca.gov

Deaf and hard of hearing: Please call the California Relay Service at 711.



MENTAL HEALTH PROVIDER BENEFIT INFORMATION



CALIFORNIA

VICTIM COMPENSATION BOAR

CALIFORNIA VICTIM COMPENSATION BOARD

Established in 1965, the California Victim Compensation Board (CalVCB) is a state program dedicated to providing reimbursement for many crime-related expenses to eligible victims who suffer physical injury or the threat of physical injury as a direct result of a violent crime.

This pamphlet provides information to assist qualified mental health providers in obtaining compensation for services to crime victims.

WHO IS ELIGIBLE FOR VICTIM COMPENSATION?

Applications for compensation must meet CalVCB eligibility requirements before payments can be made. CalVCB can help victims of qualifying crimes such as:

- Assault
- Child Abuse
- Domestic Violence
- Drunk Driving
- Elder Abuse
- Hate Crimes
- Homicide

- Human Trafficking
- Online Harassment
- Robbery
- Sexual Assault
- Stalking
- Vehicular Mansalughter

A minor witness who suffers emotional injuries may qualify for mental health counseling benefits.

CalVCB cannot pay for expenses incurred while a person is on parole, probation or post-release community supervision for a violent felony, incarcerated or required by law to register as a sex offender.

For more information, visit our Who's Eligible page at: victims.ca.gov/victims/eligibility.aspx

WHERE CAN A VICTIM GO FOR HELP?

Victim Witness Assistance Center advocates throughout the state work with CalVCB to assist victims in applying for compensation. Visit our Local Help page at: **victims.ca.gov/victims/localhelp.aspx**

REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION

A Treatment Plan (TP) must be completed and kept on file by the end of the 3rd session. The TP must be maintained in the provider's client file and submitted to CalVCB upon request. If a mental health provider is of the opinion that the client requires treatment beyond the initial session limitations, the provider must complete an Additional Treatment Plan and submit it to CalVCB along with the original TP.

For more information or to view a sample of forms and frequently asked questions, visit our Provider page at: victims.ca.gov/providers/



| QUALIFIED MENTAL HEALTH PROVIDERS TYPE OF SESSION RATE | T I |
|---|--------------------------------------|
| Psychiatrist Individual Therapy \$117/hour | The dollar limit \$10,000 for dir |
| Medication Management \$117/hour | The maximum available bene |
| Group Therapy \$46.80/hour | |
| Case Management \$75/hour | |
| Psychologist Individual Therapy \$99/hour | INITIAL SESSI |
| Group Therapy \$39.60/hour | 40 SESSION H |
| Case Management \$75/hour | |
| Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) Individual Therapy \$81/hour | 30 SESSION H |
| Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (MFT) Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor (LPCC) Group Therapy \$32.40/hour | |
| Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Case Management \$75/hour | |
| Clinical Nurse Specialist | |
| Psychologist Assistant Individual Therapy \$75/hour | |
| Associate Marriage and Family Therapist Associate Professional Clinical Counselor Group Therapy \$30/hour | 15 SESSION H |
| Associate Clinical Social Worker Case Management \$75/hour | |
| Supervised Psychology Intern (University Hospital or Medical School Clinic) | 5 SESSION HO |
| Supervised Postdoctoral Trainee (University Hospital or Medical School Clinic) | |

SESSION AND BENEFIT LIMITATIONS

The dollar limit on payments for mental health treatment is \$10,000 for direct victims and \$5,000 for derivative victims.* The maximum reimbursement per application, including all available benefits, is \$70,000.

| INITIAL SESSION LIMITS | WHO MAY RECEIVE THE BENEFIT | BENEFIT LIMITS |
|------------------------------------|--|----------------|
| 40 SESSION HOURS | Direct victim (minor and adult) | \$10,000 |
| | Immediate family members of homicide victims | \$10,000 |
| 30 SESSION HOURS | Minor witness to a violent crime | \$5,000 |
| | Derivative victim* who was a minor at the time of the crime | \$5,000 |
| | Primary caretakers of a direct victim who was a minor at the time of the crime | \$10,000 |
| | Good Samaritan | \$10,000 |
| 15 SESSION HOURS | Adult derivative victim* | \$5,000 |
| | Post-crime caretaker | \$5,000 |
| 5 SESSION HOURS CASE MANAGEMENT | Direct victim (minor and adult) | \$375 |

*A derivative victim is a person, who at the time of the crime is a grandparent, grandchild, parent, sibling, spouse, registered domestic partner or child of the victim. A derivative victim also includes a person living with the victim, fiancé or family member who witnessed the crime.

PROVIDER REIMBURSEMENT INFORMATION

- CalVCB can help pay bills and expenses that directly relate to a qualifying crime.
- Any qualified mental health provider can serve victims who are claimants with CalVCB.
- As the payor of last resort, CalVCB reimburses crime-related expenses that are not fully paid by insurance companies or other sources. To accomplish this, CalVCB corresponds with providers, as needed, to verify benefits and coordinate payments.
- When a provider submits a bill to CalVCB, they are listed in CalVCB's system as a provider of services.
- When submitting the first bill to CalVCB, include verification of licensure and a completed IRS Form W-9.
- If the victim has already paid the bill prior to filing an application with CalVCB, the victim will be reimbursed directly.