STATE OF CALIFORNIA

ERRONEOUSLY CONVICTED PERSON CLAIM FORM

VCB-41-00002 (Rev. 05/2022)



California Victim Compensation Board P.O. Box 350 Sacramento, CA 95812-0350

Email: <u>HearingOfficer@victims.ca.gov</u>

For Official Use Only	

Please carefully review and complete this form, attach all supporting documentation, and return to CalVCB at the above address by either regular mail or email. A CalVCB representative will contact you once your submission has been received and considered.

Eligibility for Compensation Recommendation under Penal Code section 4900

If you were erroneously convicted and sentenced to state prison or incarcerated in county jail pursuant to Penal Code section 1170, subdivision (h), for a felony offense under California law, then you may be entitled to a recommendation for compensation under Penal Code section 4900. (Pen. Code, § 4900, subd. (a).) To be eligible for consideration, you must no longer be incarcerated for that conviction, and you must submit a completed claim form, with supporting documentation, within 10 years of your release from custody, dismissal of charges, pardon, or acquittal on retrial. (Pen. Code, § 4901; Cal. Code Regs., tit. 2, §§ 640, 642.)

With limited exceptions, you must present evidence to prove by a preponderance that (1) the charged crime was not committed at all or was not committed by you, and (2) you sustained injury as a result of your erroneous conviction and imprisonment. (Pen. Code, §§ 4900, subd. (a); 4903, subd. (a).) Both of these elements are presumed, and a recommendation for compensation is automatically mandated by law, if a court has found you factually innocent for every offense underlying your incarceration. (Pen. Code, §§ 1485.55, subd. (a), 4902, subd. (a).) Alternatively, if your conviction was vacated during a habeas proceeding or pursuant to Penal Code sections 1473.6 or 1473.7, subdivision (a)(2), and the charges were dismissed or acquitted upon remand, then a recommendation for compensation is mandated for your demonstrated injury, unless the Attorney General timely submits clear and convincing evidence of your guilt. (Pen. Code, §§ 4900, subd. (b), 4902, subd. (d), 4903, subd. (b).)

CALIFORNIA VICTIM COMPENSATION BOARD P.O. Box 350 • Sacramento, CA 95812-0350

Phone: 800.777.9229 • Fax: 916.491.6441

Email: HearingOfficer@victims.ca.gov • www.victims.ca.gov

Compensation is calculated at a flat rate of \$140 per day of your erroneous imprisonment. (Pen. Code, § 4904.) Compensation is barred for any claimant who pled guilty with the specific intent to protect another from prosecution. (Pen. Code, § 4903, subd. (e).) In the event CalVCB approves your claim and recommends compensation, it is ultimately up to the Legislature to enact a bill to appropriate those funds on your behalf.

Section A. Claimant Information			
Claimant's Name:	Date of Birth:		
CDCR Inmate Number:	Preferred Pronouns:		
Email Address:	Telephone Number:		
Mailing Address:	City:	State:	_ ZIP:
It is your ongoing duty to provide a current add	lress to CalVCB	. (Cal. Code Regs., tit	t. 2, § 616.2.)
Section B. Attorney/Representative Info	ormation <i>(if ap</i>	plicable)	
Name of Attorney/Representative:			
Email Address:	Telephone Number:		
Mailing Address:	City:	State:	_ ZIP:
Signature:		Date:	
An attorney or representative is not required in your representative has an ongoing duty to protit. 2, § 616.2.)			•
Section C. Erroneous Conviction(s) Info	ormation		
County and Criminal Court Case Number for E	Frroneous Felon	y Conviction(s):	
Penal Code (or Vehicle Code or Health and Sa	afety Code) sect	ion for Erroneous Fel	ony Conviction(s):

CALIFORNIA VICTIM COMPENSATION BOARD P.O. Box 350 • Sacramento, CA 95812-0350 Phone: 800.777.9229 • Fax: 916.491.6441

State prison(s) in which Claimant's sentence was	s served:	
Date of Arrest:	Date of Conviction:	
Sentence Imposed:	Days Actually Served:	
Date of Release from Imprisonment (you are not for the challenged conviction(s)):	eligible to submit a claim if you are still incarcerated	
Date of Discharge from Parole/Supervision:		
Date of Dismissal or Acquittal of Charges on Reti	rial:	
Date of Pardon Granted:		
Amount of Compensation Requested (<i>calculated</i> \$	at \$140 per day of your erroneous incarceration):	
You must attach supporting documentation to confrom custody for the challenged offense. (Cal. Co		
Section D. Factual Innocence Determinati	on	
	ocence for your challenged conviction(s) in any e the judgment under Penal Code section 1473.6?	
No Yes. If yes, you must attac	ch a copy of the court's order to this claim form.	
2. Did the court finding of factual innocence a entire sentence?	apply to each and every conviction underlying your	
	ch a copy of the Abstract of Judgement or other nfirm the calculation for your sentence.	
Upon satisfactory proof that the answer to both of an automatic recommendation for compensation hearing.	f these questions is yes, then you may be entitled to within 30 days and without an administrative	
CALIFORNIA MOTI	M COMPENSATION BOARD	

CALIFORNIA VICTIM COMPENSATION BOARD P.O. Box 350 • Sacramento, CA 95812-0350 Phone: 800.777.9229 • Fax: 916.491.6441

Section E. Post-Conviction Proceedings (Excluding Dire	ect Appeal)
Has a court vacated your challenged conviction(s) by grant No. Yes. If yes, you must attach a copy of the conviction	
 Has a court vacated your challenged conviction(s) pursuant 1473.7, subdivision (a)(2)? 	t to Penal Code section 1473.6 or
No Yes. If yes, you must attach a copy of the	court's order to this claim form.
3. If you answered yes to either #1 or #2 above, were the charemand or were you acquitted on retrial?	rges subsequently dismissed on
No Yes. If yes, you must attach a copy of the	court's order to this claim form.
Upon satisfactory proof that the answer is yes to questions #1 and entitled to a recommendation for compensation for your demonstr General timely submits clear and convincing evidence of your guildence.	ated injury, unless the Attorney
Section F. Statement of Factual Innocence	
Absent an exception, you bear the burden to prove your factual in evidence. (Pen. Code, § 4900, subd. (a).) To present a claim to the statement of facts to show that the crime with which you were chall, or, if committed, was not committed by you. (Please attach ad	ne Board, you must provide a a larged was either not committed at
evidence. (Pen. Code, § 4900, subd. (a).) To present a claim to the statement of facts to show that the crime with which you were characteristics.	ne Board, you must provide a a larged was either not committed at
evidence. (Pen. Code, § 4900, subd. (a).) To present a claim to the statement of facts to show that the crime with which you were characteristics.	ne Board, you must provide a a larged was either not committed at
evidence. (Pen. Code, § 4900, subd. (a).) To present a claim to the statement of facts to show that the crime with which you were characteristics.	ne Board, you must provide a a larged was either not committed at
evidence. (Pen. Code, § 4900, subd. (a).) To present a claim to the statement of facts to show that the crime with which you were characteristics.	ne Board, you must provide a a larged was either not committed at
evidence. (Pen. Code, § 4900, subd. (a).) To present a claim to the statement of facts to show that the crime with which you were characteristics.	ne Board, you must provide a a larged was either not committed at
evidence. (Pen. Code, § 4900, subd. (a).) To present a claim to the statement of facts to show that the crime with which you were characteristics.	ne Board, you must provide a a larged was either not committed at
evidence. (Pen. Code, § 4900, subd. (a).) To present a claim to the statement of facts to show that the crime with which you were characteristics.	ne Board, you must provide a arged was either not committed at

CALIFORNIA VICTIM COMPENSATION BOARD P.O. Box 350 • Sacramento, CA 95812-0350 Phone: 800.777.9229 • Fax: 916.491.6441

Email: HearingOfficer@victims.ca.gov • www.victims.ca.gov

Section G. Statement of Injury
Absent an exception, you bear the burden to prove, by a preponderance, that you sustained injury as a result of your erroneous conviction. Injury is shown if you would have been free from custody but-for the erroneous conviction. To demonstrate injury, list every conviction and resulting sentence that was imposed at any time during your confinement for the erroneous conviction. (Please attach additional paper if necessary.)

CALIFORNIA VICTIM COMPENSATION BOARD P.O. Box 350 • Sacramento, CA 95812-0350

Phone: 800.777.9229 • Fax: 916.491.6441

1. Did you enter a guilty plea to the conviction(s) for which you are seeking compensation under Penal Code section 4900? ____ No. ____ Yes. 2. If the answer is yes, did you do so with the specific intent to protect another from prosecution? ____ No. ____ Yes. 3. Please explain the reasons for your decision to enter a guilty plea. **Section I. Declaration Statement** I declare under penalty of perjury, under the laws of the State of California, that the foregoing is true and correct. Printed Name: _____ Signature: _____ Date: _____

Section H. Disqualification for Certain Guilty Pleas

CALIFORNIA VICTIM COMPENSATION BOARD P.O. Box 350 • Sacramento, CA 95812-0350

Phone: 800.777.9229 • Fax: 916.491.6441

Privacy Notice on Collection

- 1. CalVCB collects this information based on California Government Code sections 13952 et seq. and 13954, Penal Code section 4900 et seq., and California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 640 et seq.
- 2. All information collected from this site is subject to, but not limited to, the Information Practices Act. See <u>victims.ca.gov/legal/public-records-requests/</u>.
- 3. This information is collected for the purpose of determining eligibility for compensation.
- 4. CalVCB may disclose your personal information to another requester, only if required to do so by law or in good faith that such action is necessary to:
 - Conform to the edicts of the law or comply with legal process served on CalVCB or the site;
 - b. Protect and defend the rights or property of CalVCB; and,
 - Act under exigent circumstances to protect the personal safety of users of CalVCB, or the public.
- 5. Individuals are to provide only the information requested.
- 6. The information provided is voluntary.
- 7. The consequences of not providing the requested information could delay filing the claim or the claim not being filed.
- 8. The information collected is used by the Legal staff to process your claim.
- Any questions regarding the information collected, please write to the following address: P.O. Box 350, Sacramento, CA 95812-0350, email <u>CustodianOfRecords@Victims.ca.gov</u>, call (888) 833-3593, or contact the CalVCB Privacy Coordinator at lnfoSecurityAndPrivacy@Victims.ca.gov.

CALIFORNIA VICTIM COMPENSATION BOARD P.O. Box 350 • Sacramento, CA 95812-0350 Phone: 800.777.9229 • Fax: 916.491.6441