Who Is Eligible

To get compensation, a person must be a victim of a certain kind of crime.

In some cases, a witness to a crime may be eligible for compensation. Family members of victims can also qualify.

On this page:

Eligibility criteria

To be eligible for compensation, victims must be:

  • A California resident at the time of the crime, or
  • A non-resident victimized in California.

The crime must involve:

  • Physical injury,
  • Emotional injury due to the threat of physical injury,
  • Death, or
  • Emotional injury, in some cases.

Victims must:

  • Cooperate with police and court officials to arrest and prosecute the offender
    • Exceptions may apply
  • Cooperate with CalVCB staff
  • Not have been involved in events leading to the crime.
  • Not have committed a felony at the time of the crime
  • File the application within time limits. These are:
    • Within seven years of the crime, or
    • Seven years after the direct victim turns 21 years of age, or 
    • Seven years from when the crime could have been discovered, whichever is later. 

Kinds of eligible victims

Direct victim

A direct victim is the individual who is the victim of a qualifying crime. Sometimes a witness to a crime is considered a direct victim.

Derivative victim

A derivative victim is an individual with a relationship to a direct victim who has expenses or needs services because of that person’s injury or death. This can be a:

  • Spouse
  • Parent
  • Sibling
  • Child
  • Grandchild
  • Grandparent
  • Domestic partner
  • Roommate
  • Caretaker of a minor victim, after the crime

Good Samaritan

A Good Samaritan is someone who took a direct action that benefited the public. This includes preventing a crime or rescuing a person in immediate danger. 

To be reimbursed, use the Application for Good Samaritan Compensation.

Crimes covered

Crimes covered by CalVCB include but are not limited to:

  • Assault with a deadly weapon
  • Battery
  • Child abuse
  • Child sexual assault
  • Child endangerment and abandonment
  • Domestic violence
  • Driving under the influence
  • Elder abuse
  • Hate crimes
  • Homicide
  • Human trafficking
  • Hit and run
  • Kidnapping
  • Murder
  • Online harassment
  • Rape
  • Robbery
  • Sexual assault
  • Stalking
  • Sexual battery
  • Terrorism
  • Vehicular manslaughter
  • Other crimes that result in physical injury or a threat of physical injury to the victim

For some crimes, victims may be eligible for compensation for emotional injury alone. These crimes include:

  • Child abandonment
  • Child abduction
  • Neglect

Who is not eligible

  • Those who committed the crime
  • Those who were involved in the events leading to the crime
  • Those who committed a felony at the time of the crime
    • Exceptions may be considered
  • Those who do not cooperate with police and the court in the investigation, arrest, and trial of the person who committed the crime
    • Exceptions are considered, like in cases of domestic violence, sexual assault, child abuse, or human trafficking

Related info

What is covered →

How to get compensated →

Exit site