For Immediate Release: May 30, 2018
Contact: Janice Mackey, (916) 491-3821
Sacramento, CA — The California Victim Compensation Board (CalVCB) concluded its statewide denim clothing drive, an annual event which raises awareness about the misconceptions of sexual assault while assisting victims of crime.
This year, nine participating counties collected nearly 800 denim items during the month of April and donated them in May to local charities throughout the state. Participating charities either advocate for crime victims or help families in need with clothing items. Marin County led the way with 371 donated items.
“We are proud of this collaborative effort with our county partners to raise awareness about sexual assault and victim resources,” said Julie Nauman, CalVCB Executive Officer. “The more we talk about this issue, the more we’re able to address the misconceptions and help prevent future victims of sexual assault.”
Last fiscal year, CalVCB assisted nearly 4,000 victims of sexual assault with financial assistance for crime-related expenses across the state.
The following organizations participated in the April denim drive with CalVCB:
- Colusa County District Attorney
- Contra Costa County District Attorney’s Office
- Department of Social Services, Community Care Licensing in Orange County
- Los Angeles County District Attorney – Bureau of Victim Services
- Marin County District Attorney
- Sacramento District Attorney’s Office, Victim Witness Program
- Sonoma County District Attorney
Denim Day originated when women of the Italian Parliament wore jeans in protest of the high court’s decision to overturn a rape conviction. The court justices ruled that since the 18-year-old victim wore tight jeans, she must have helped the attacker remove them, thereby implying consent. Subsequently, the rapist was set free. Today, many individuals and victims’ rights groups throughout the country annually observe Denim Day during the last week of April.
For confidential support and information about services available to sexual assault victims, contact the National Sexual Assault Hotline at 800-656-Hope (4673). For more information about California’s victim compensation program, visit victims.ca.gov.
The California Victim Compensation Board (CalVCB) provides compensation for victims of violent crime who are injured or threatened with injury. Among the crimes covered are domestic violence, child abuse, sexual and physical assault, homicide, robbery, and vehicular manslaughter. Last fiscal year, the program received nearly 52,000 applications and provided over $53 million in compensation to crime victims.
If a person meets eligibility criteria, CalVCB will compensate many types of services when the costs are not covered by other sources. Eligible expenses include medical and dental care, mental health services, income loss, funeral expenses, rehabilitation and relocation. Funding for CalVCB comes from restitution fines and orders, penalty assessments levied on persons convicted of crimes, traffic offenses and federal funds.