Annual Event Raises Awareness for Sexual Assault
Sacramento, CA — The California Victim Compensation Board (CalVCB) concluded its annual statewide denim clothing drive, an event which raises awareness about the misconceptions of sexual assault while assisting victims of crime.
Denim Day originated when women of the Italian Parliament wore jeans in protest of the high court’s decision to overturn a rape conviction. The court justices ruled that since the 18-year-old victim wore tight jeans, she must have helped the attacker remove them, thereby implying consent. Subsequently, the rapist was set free. Today, many individuals and victims’ rights groups throughout the country annually observe Denim Day during the last week of April.
In that spirit, numerous organizations collected hundreds of garments during the month of April and donated them in May to local charities throughout the state. Participating charities either advocate for crime victims or help families in need with clothing items.
“Every 98 seconds, someone is sexually assaulted in the United States. For survivors, the psychological injuries can be overwhelming,” said Julie Nauman, CalVCB Executive Officer. “Research shows that early access to victim services can profoundly help crime victims in their journey to healing.”
The following organizations participated in the drive with CalVCB:
- Butte County District Attorney’s Office
- Calaveras County Victim Witness Program
- Kings County District Attorney’s Office
- Marin County District Attorney’s Victim Witness Assistance
- Monterey County Victim Witness Assistance Program
- Napa Emergency Women’s Services (NEWS)
- Sacramento County District Attorney’s Office
- San Luis Obispo Victim Witness Assistance Center
- Santa Barbara County District Attorney’s Office, Victim Witness Program
- Shasta County District Attorney’s Office, Victim Assistance Center
- Sierra County District Attorney’s Office, Victim Witness Assistance
- Sonoma County District Attorney’s Office, Victim Services Division
Nearly one-third of CalVCB applications are for domestic violence or sexual assault, which highlights the importance in raising awareness for these horrific crimes.
Since its inception, CalVCB has provided over $2.4 billion in financial assistance for mental health counseling, medical treatment, funeral and burial costs, emergency relocation and more.
For confidential support and information about services available to sexual assault victims, contact the National Sexual Assault Hotline at 800-656-Hope (4673). For more information about California’s victim compensation program, visit victims.ca.gov.
The California Victim Compensation Board (CalVCB) provides compensation for victims of violent crime who are injured or threatened with injury. Among the crimes covered are domestic violence, child abuse, sexual and physical assault, homicide, robbery, and vehicular manslaughter. Last fiscal year, the program received nearly 51,000 applications and provided over $52 million in compensation to crime victims.
If a person meets eligibility criteria, CalVCB will compensate many types of services when the costs are not covered by other sources. Eligible expenses include medical and dental care, mental health services, income loss, funeral expenses, rehabilitation and relocation. Funding for CalVCB comes from restitution fines and orders, penalty assessments levied on persons convicted of crimes, traffic offenses and federal funds.