Information for Offenders

California law requires every offender convicted of a felony or misdemeanor in California to pay a restitution fine. The court imposes a restitution order to cover actual crime-related expenses incurred by a victim as a result of the crime.

California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation: Offenders sentenced to prison pay their restitution through CDCR. If an offender is released from prison, CDCR sends CalVCB the offender’s unpaid restitution information. If an offender has questions about this unpaid amount or believes their account balance does not reflect all payments made while incarcerated, the offender must contact CDCR and request an audit of their Inmate Trust Account activity at: 877-256-6877 or CDCRRestitution@cdcr.ca.gov

The FTB Ordered Debt Program collects unpaid restitution fines in three ways:

  • Demand for Payment Letter: A letter is mailed to the offender’s home address requesting full payment of the restitution fine. If the offender fails to respond to FTB with payment in full, or fails to call within 10 days of the date on the letter, FTB will begin taking the next step in collecting the restitution fine
  • Employer Garnishment:
    A letter is mailed to the offender’s employer requiring them to withhold a percentage of the offender’s net wages for each pay period until the restitution fine is paid in full. The offender’s employer is also instructed to notify the employee immediately of this action. If the offender fails to contact FTB after receiving notice of the garnishment action, the employer must begin withholding wages as instructed.
  • Bank Levy: The offender’s bank receives a letter instructing them to freeze the offender’s bank account up to the full amount owed, and immediately notify the offender of this action. If the offender fails to contact FTB within 10 business days, FTB will deduct any funds available up to the full amount of the fine from the offender’s bank account.

The offender must provide CalVCB with the receipts showing the case number, the amount paid and payment dates, along with their name, CDCR or Department of Juvenile Justice number, address, phone number and the best time to reach them.

Submit via:

Fax:
916-491-6447

Mail:
California Victim Compensation Board
Restitution Recovery Unit
P.O. Box 1348
Sacramento, CA 95812-1348

Offenders can get their CDCR case number(s) related to their court ordered restitution fine(s) by calling 877-256-6877. Offenders must have the CDCR number they were given when they were sent to state prison.

Offenders sent to DJJ may contact CalVCB to get the case number(s) related to their court ordered restitution fine(s). Offenders will need to provide the DJJ number they were given at the time they were incarcerated. Contact CalVCB at 916-324-1933, or CODRestitution@victims.ca.gov.

The offender must provide CalVCB with copies of the court documents (often called “minute order”, “abstract of judgment”, or “sentencing minutes”) they received when they were sentenced, along with their full name, CDCR number, address, phone number and best time to reach them.

Fax:
916-491-6447

Email:
CODRestitution@victims.ca.gov

Mail:
California Victim Compensation Board
Restitution Recovery Unit
P.O. Box 1348
Sacramento, CA 95812-1348

Offenders who need copies of their court documents must contact the Criminal Division of the county court where they were sentenced.

The court may allow offenders to make monthly payments to satisfy their restitution obligation. A defense attorney can assist an offender with this process.

Probate Code sections 216 and 9202 require estate attorneys, beneficiaries, and personal representatives to inform CalVCB when a deceased person has an heir who was formerly incarcerated or is currently incarcerated, no later than 90 days after the date of death. Probate Code section 216 provides requirements for notice.

Complete the Inmate Inheritance Notification Form to notify CalVCB

Submit the notification form and decedent’s death certificate electronically to probate@victims.ca.gov or by mail to:

California Victim Compensation Board

P.O. Box 1348
Sacramento, CA 95812-1348

For questions, contact the Probate and Settlement Recovery Unit at 916-491-3766.

Quick Escape